Me + Social Media = <3

Untitled design (1)

I’ve grown up on myspace, taking survey’s til 3 am, talking to fake celebrity profiles and learning that there is a world beyond the four walls of my room. This generation has become so reliant on social media, but in more ways than just our moms seeing us on our phones 24/7. It has become a way for us to escape in to the New Zealand landscape on Instagram, keep up with the cool uncle that lives in California, and meet new people who share the same love for Taylor Swift on Tumblr. Social media may have its flaws and consequences, but it has shown the world today just how powerful it.

Social media is not only valuable to me for these aspects, as I’ve grown, and through this class, I’ve come to understand more about what social media can really do for me. Through keeping up with events about Ferguson, to being alerted when there are job openings around town, social media has benefitted my life for the better. It has allow allowed for doors to open when it comes to networking. I think in my future a big part of my social media platform will be dedicated to networking and keeping in touch or supporting those whom I know and want to know. I believe it is important to keep contact and social media allows me to do that.

To be honest, I have no idea what career I want or where I will be going. One day I want to work at Pixar and the next I want to figure out how to incorporate social media with my studio art major. After this class, I’ve become really interested in social media and actual jobs relating to it, so it has changed my view and how I use social media to date. I do see myself furthering and creating a more professional brand for myself as well as taking more classes to help establish my brand. I always knew social media had some place in the business world, but I look forward to learning more about it, especially when it comes to tracking the success of your brand. I also want to learn more about how to create good content and use my knowledge to further my success.

Leave a Reply

